Privacy

I am not exactly sure what we did in lab this past week because I was sick and couldn’t go. I am excited to be going back to class tonight and catch up on my work. I hate missing class. It always makes me feel so guilty even though I’ve done nothing wrong.

This week we had to read the following:

And watch this video:

I am always very careful with what I post on social media. I take a minute to think about the post/picture and think about whether or not it might haunt me in the future. As a future communication professional, the issue of privacy greatly concerns me because I don’t think that people actually have privacy. Just because an account is private doesn’t mean that people can’t see it. I know people who use other people’s accounts to look at my account because I am not friends with them on Facebook.

These posts can come back to affect my work/career. I am a teen and therefore do teen things. I might think what I am doing is cool now, but if an employer sees a picture of me doing it then it might make me seem like I am not employable. You have “to be careful about how you represent yourself on social media” (http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/social-networks/what-does-your-internet-profile-say-about-you-3474750/) because employers are always watching.

Changes in the way we view privacy has a huge impact on democratic society. Privacy, in my opinion, seems like it is becoming less and less of a given. People have to go through a lot to keep what they post on social media private.

 

3 thoughts on “Privacy

  1. Destiny,
    I agree that we do not have true privacy in today’s society. It is very possible to get around the privacy settings on any social media account. I also try to be careful about what I post online. There are times though where my posts could come back to bite me in the butt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

