The Road by Cormac McCarthy

My favorite book is The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I first read this book my senior year of high school. It was an assignment given to my class by my English teacher. We had to read the book and write a paper on it. When I was first given the assignment I dreaded it, but as soon as I stared reading it, my heart opened. (SPOLIER ALERTS TO COME)

I read day and night. The love between the man and the boy was just so pure and real to me. It showed me that there are ways to let someone know that you love them without actually saying it. It taught me to see love in people’s actions and not just their words.

The book, to me, is a love story between a parent and child and a story of survival. It spoke to me on so many levels. It is the perfect book, in my opinion. I has love, hardships, cannibals, bad men, adventure, etc. I was never bored when reading it. It can be a little hard to follow due to the way it was written, but if you pay attention it shouldn’t be a problem.

When it came time to write the paper, I had it written in about an hour. I poured my heart and soul into the paper. I made an A, but the grade didn’t matter to me because I took something else away from the assignment.

I loved the book so much that I got a quote from it tattooed on my body. “Each the other’s world entire” is written across my right shoulder. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about adventure and a love stories that are anything but typical.

Leave a Reply

