Hogg Mine

This weekend, I went with the Geology Club to LaGrange, Georgia, where we went camping. It was really fun. We stayed up late, sat by the fire, and roasted marshmallows.

That night, it dropped down to 34 degrees Fahrenheit. I’m not used to it being that cold anymore so it was kind of a shock. My sleeping bag is only good for down to 40 degree weather and so I was freezing all night. I had two blankets wrapped around my sleeping bag and was wearing sweatpants, a sweatshirt, and a jacket. It didn’t help much. I tossed and turned all night.

We were up at 8 the next morning and I was ready to start the day. I took a quick walk out to the lake that was on the back side of the camp site. The morning sun sparkled across the water. Then we were off.

We went to Hogg Mine and it was incredible. Quartz was all over the ground. The ground sparkled when you walked because of the quartz. We dug and climbed for hours. We collected rose quartz, milky quartz, crystal quartz, smokey quartz, mica, muscovite, aquamarine, and tourmaline. I tripled the size of my rock collection. My bucket was so heavy leaving that I could barely carry it.

I definitely plan on going back. I hope I can go during spring break.

Leave a Reply

