Three Shots Fired

My dad is a police officer. He has been one for all of my life and it is all I have ever known. It can be really scary having your parent work a job like this. Sometimes, I would see about something bad on the news and know that my dad had to be there.

When I was in 8th grade, I got checked out of school for some reason. My parents were the type to make me stay in school even if I was dying. Well, that day I got checked out. My mom picked me up and, together, we went to check out my sister. When she had us both, she told us that we were on our way to the hospital because my dad had been shot. As a 13 year old, my mind went to the worst.

That day, my dad was on the way home from the gym and was on the interstate. He was almost hit head on by a car going the wrong direction in traffic. My dad was in his police car so he decided to go after the car. They swerved in and out of traffic and the car on the run finally hit another car and was forced to stop.

My dad got out and had his gun ready in case he needed it. The driver of the other car got out and started attacking my dad. Drivers of other cars on the interstate all stopped and watched in horror as this man and police officer fist fought on the side of the road.

My dad couldn’t get his gun out of the holster so he threw it so the guy couldn’t get it. The man managed to get away and find the gun. He got the holster off and fired three shots. The first two missed, but my dad grabbed the gun as he shot the third one and it hit my dad’s leg.

The man the ran over to the car he hit and got in the car with her. Back up soon got there and helped my dad. He tells me that it was the scariest experience of his life and it is one of the worst memories I have. Sitting there in the hospital and not knowing anything still haunts me.

I am so glad that my dad is okay and that the day hadn’t gone worse. Every time that I think about it I give my dad a big hug and thank the universe that he is still here.

Leave a Reply

