Email

This week in lab, we learned how to edit videos using really nice editing software. It was my first time editing video and so I was a little nervous, but it turned out to be really fun. We got to recreate our professor’s video and we got to add a little extra to it so I put it to country music because it is the worst.

This week we had to read the following:

We also had to watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqk0baXEaL8.

I had to create a filter on my email. It was a very easy process. I decided to filter for my CA 260 messages since it was the class that I had to do it for. The process was very easy. I just searched the messages and then clicked “create a filter” and filled in the information that I wanted. I think that filters will help me in the future because I can make sure that important messages don’t get sent to my spam folder. I used the gmail link (https://support.google.com/mail/answer/6579?hl=en) to figure out how to do it. According to the link the steps are:

  1. Open Gmail.
  2. In the search box at the top, click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  3. Enter your search criteria. If you want to check that your search worked correctly, see what emails show up by clicking Search Search. 
  4. At the bottom of the search window, click Create filter with this search.
  5. Choose what you’d like the filter to do.
  6. Click Create filter

The field guide link (http://fieldguide.gizmodo.com/7-gmail-filters-to-make-email-less-of-a-chore-1646551691) has some really good examples of filters to add.

We also had to write an email to our professor that is clear and professional. I used the steps listed in the tutsplus link (https://business.tutsplus.com/articles/how-to-write-clear-and-professional-emails–cms-20939). My email would be as follows:

Hi, George Willis.

I really enjoy your class. I always have a good time and learn something useful; however, I am going to have to leave next week’s lab early due to a family issue. Will you please make your lecture available on Sakai for me to access at home? Thank you for all of your help with this.

All the best.

Destiny Williams

 

One thought on “Email

  1. Destiny,
    I use filters often but it never occurred to me that they were keeping important emails from ending up in the spam folder. That is a really good point! I also agree that the process of creating a filter is easy and that use of filters is helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

