The Swamp at Sunset

Yesterday, I was feeling extremely motivated. I have been having trouble with motivation here lately. I haven’t felt like doing my school work and I hadn’t picked up my camera in forever. Well yesterday, something changed. I haven’t been able to put my camera down.

Around 5, I decided I wanted to go to my university because there is a swamp there that I had never taken pictures of. Mackenzie, my sister, her friend, Kendall, and Liam all decided to go with me. As we were leaving, Mackenzie’s car started to mess up and we had to fix it before we could leave.

We finally got it working and then had to drive the 15 minutes to school. It became a race to get to the bridge over the swamp before the sun went down and we lost the light. My heart raced as I flew around corners and passed cars.

We finally made it. The sun was in the perfect position and it reflected its yellow light across the water. All of my friends and I stood in awe as the sun slowly moved down behind the trees. Its light and warmth touched our skin for as long as it could and then it was gone, replaced by pinks and oranges in the sky.

We followed up our experience with a quick hike on one of our walking trails. It was perfect.

Leave a Reply

